Posted in Cool Stuff

How I Got Started…Part 1

January 9, 2017-People often ask me how I got started with writing, what inspires my stories and how I get ideas so I’ve decided to dedicate today’s blog post to those questions. Today will deal with the first question and subsequent entries will explain the rest.

How I got started: 

I’ve always had a huge imagination, ever since I was a kid. Sure, I used to write stories and such but I never really wanted to be a writer. Truth be told, I didn’t really think about the books that I read or how they came to be when I was up late reading a hand-me-down copy of The Baby Sitter’s Club.

I wanted to be the person who went out onto the ice during an NHL game and stitched up the hockey players! Talk about a totally different path! I remember that in the third grade, my friends and I decided to write stories about our “crushes,” and mine just happened to be the amazing Cam Neely (of Boston Bruins glory back in the day). I dug out some paper and filled seven lined pages with a story where he fell madly in love with me! (I was only nine years old by the way:) This is my first solid memory of my love affair with writing.

My creative writing started to wane as I got older and school assignments became more of a priority. I didn’t care about writing really but I still had a huge imagination.

I can’t remember the particular day this happened or how the conversation went exactly but I think it was my mom who bugged me to write a story about our farm cat named Panda. It probably went something like this, “You should write a story about Panda! He’s been into (fill in the blank) again!” I heard this about a dozen times before I did anything about it. Then, one day, I wrote Panda the Very Bad Cat (plus the 2 other books in the series) and my husband suggested that I go all the way with it! And the and the rest is history.

So I’d like to thank my mom for bugging me to write a story about a black and white cat who’s actually a real pain in the butt! Without her “encouragement,” I wouldn’t be able to share his story with you today. I’d also like to thank my husband for his constant support, love, and vision of everything Panda. Oh, and I’d like to thank my brother-in-law  for naming Panda:) and letting me off the hook with a royalty percentage:D

So there it is! The story of how I got started. Maybe a little less magical than one would have thought, but the truth is…it’s magic to me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Author:

I'm an author and the founder of Pandamonium Publishing House. I'm a member of The Society of Writers as well as a member of the SCBWI. My debut children's book Panda the Very Bad Cat has been a massive success. Stay tuned for more titles coming soon. I love my job as much as I love cats!

2 thoughts on “How I Got Started…Part 1

Leave a Reply

