Posted in Events

Tips to Succeed at Events…As a Vendor/Business Owner…Part 1

As you know, I do my fair share of events and truth be told there’s no way to say whether the event that you are attending as a vendor will be successful or not. Multiple variables are beyond your control such as the traffic flow in regards to how many people attend the event, the weather if the event is indoors/outdoors, where the location of your booth is and so many other things.

The good news is that the more prepared you are for your events, the better you’ll do regarding sales, connections, and networking. Here are a few tips that have worked well for me and I hope that by implementing the tools and adding them to your arsenal, that they’ll work for you too!

  1. Define success-Success can only be measured by what you say it is. So if getting the e-mail addresses of 100 people means success to you, then, by all means, do it! If it’s selling five pieces of your hand-made art, then strive for that. As you can see success is very personal. Everyone’s definition of success is different so be sure to know what you’re aiming for.
  2. Listen to what others are saying-There are some amazing shows that I’ve been fortunate enough to be a part of and other shows that have been really slow. Listen to the buzz around the event and listen to what other vendors are saying as a whole. That doesn’t mean that you have to agree with them, but maybe there is some merit to keeping your ear to the ground. There is someone locally that does shows that are AMAZING! She is organized, an entrepreneur does great advertising and knows how to bring in traffic, and after all, more traffic means more sales! Of course, when I heard about her and got into one of her shows, I knew that I HAD to do more! What she does is magic, and I always do extremely well at whatever she hosts. This works the other way too, sometimes there’s a general consensus that the host doesn’t care if the vendors do well or not and are only lining their own pockets. The point is, try to do as many shows as possible to weed out the bad ones.
  3.  Be prepared-This means have marketing materials, additional tables, chairs, table coverings, signage, your product in ten times the amount that you’ll need because you never know, pens, business cards and whatever else you require to sell your product or service. Always over pack and keep it in your vehicle as a just in case. Also, bring snacks and extra outdoor clothes if the event is outside. I’ve been surprised at this a few times:)

I hope that you’ve enjoyed the first part of this series. Follow my blog and return on Friday for part 2.

 

LLB

Image result for vendor event

Author:

I'm an author and the founder of Pandamonium Publishing House. I'm a member of The Society of Writers as well as a member of the SCBWI. My debut children's book Panda the Very Bad Cat has been a massive success. Stay tuned for more titles coming soon. I love my job as much as I love cats!

Leave a Reply

