Posted in Cool Stuff, pandamonium publishing house

Exploring Genres…Part 1 of 3

I’m really excited to do this three part segment about exploring genres. As many of you know, I write and also publish different genres that include, but are not limited to: Picture Books for Children, Middle-grade Novels, and Adult Thrillers. Well, today I’m excited to talk about one of my guilty pleasures, but I’ll get to that in a second. I think that as an author it’s imperative to explore genres that are outside of your realm of writing. Not only does it make you a better writer but it also allows you to open up your mind to some really fun possibilities.

Most writers are voracious readers, it’s all part and parcel of what we do! I’m not a huge fan of sci-fi or fantasy books, but I do put effort into reading them every once in a while.

So, let’s dig right in and talk about one of my recently found favourite genres when you need something that is light, uplifting, and cozy! The genre we’re talking about today is called Cozy Mysteries or just Cozies. A Cozie is a subgenre of crime fiction where violence is downplayed, and the crime and detection take place in a small town that is a socially intimate community. I stumbled upon this genre when I was looking to take a break from some of the heavier, violent, mind-bending thriller fiction that I was writing and reading. It was time to find something a bit lighter and, well, cozy. Cozy mysteries are perfect for the beach or in front of a crackling fire or sitting by the window with a cup of tea as you listen to the rain tap at the window. These books make you want to snuggle up and disappear between their pages.

If you haven’t tried Cozy Mysteries just yet, I urge you to do so. It’s a great way to take a break, to have fun and read something a bit more relaxed than usual fiction. I particularly like the author Laurie Cass and her book Borrowed Crime. It’s a really cute book and the cover has a picture of a cat and a bookmobile…SOLD!

I hope that if you haven’t already, that you’ll check out this genre and expand your reading list a bit. It’s refreshing to read something that doesn’t make you overthink or keep you up at night. Try it and tell me what you think in the comments below!

LLB

FullSizeRender (10)

Author:

I'm an author and the founder of Pandamonium Publishing House. I'm a member of The Society of Writers as well as a member of the SCBWI. My debut children's book Panda the Very Bad Cat has been a massive success. Stay tuned for more titles coming soon. I love my job as much as I love cats!

Leave a Reply

